The ASMSU Senate is the elected student government responsible for representing the voice and interests of the MSU-Bozeman student body. If you, as a member of the MSU student body, have an issue that you want the Senate to address, please contact the Senator representing your college or an At Large Senator. Senate may take action on such requests in the form of a resolution or a bill, which would be presented to the entire Senate to be voted upon. Senate leadership consists of a Senate President and Senate Vice President, who are elected by and from the Senate.

The ASMSU Senate allocates the student activity fees to ASMSU programs through annual budgeting each spring semester.

The ASMSU Senate holds public meetings during the academic year every Thursday at 6 pm except for finals weeks and holidays. Please email for meeting location.




The ASMSU Senate consists of 21 senators elected from their respective Colleges. 
Seats for FY 19 are apportioned as follows:

College Number of Seats


Arts and Architecture 1
Business 2
Education/HHD 2
Engineering 4
Letters and Science 4
Nursing 1
University Studies 1
At Large 5
Senate Secretary  1
Senate Leadership  2