Adopted 21 September 2017

Whereas, The state of Montana currently has 72 Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) recipients, the loss of whom, according to the Center for American Progress, would lead to an annual estimated GDP loss of $3,507,840 if removed from the workforce; and,

Whereas, According to the United States Census Bureau, 2.1% of the population of the state of Montana between 2011-2015 consisted of foreign born persons; and, 

Whereas, As of the fall of 2016, 4% of Montana State University’s student population consisted of international students, making the proportion of foreign born persons in the Montana State Community nearly, if not double or more, that of the state of Montana as a whole; and,

Whereas, The Associated Students of Montana State University (ASMSU) Mission Statement reads, “ASMSU is the voice of the students, dedicated to enhancing the college experience at Montana State University with leadership and employment opportunities, diverse student oriented programs and services…”; and,

Whereas, Montana State University does not keep records on students who are recipients of DACA attending the university, but do have records on students’ current immigration status; and,

Whereas, Beginning on March 5th, 2018, Immigration and Customs Enforcement officials will be able to use data collected from participants in the DACA program to locate and deport them; and,

Whereas, Montana State University’s Diversity Statement reads “Montana State University is dedicated to creating an inclusive community that embraces a rich mix in the composition of its student body, staff and faculty. The distinction in viewpoints that comes from differences in race, gender, age, language, socioeconomic status, religion, political affiliation and geographical background are appreciated and valued at MSU as important aspects of the campus community…”; and,

Whereas, DACA is a program applied for, according to U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), by peoples who, “Were under the age of 31 as of June 15, 2012; Came to the United States before reaching their 16th birthday; Have continuously resided in the United States since June 15, 2007, up to the present time; Were physically present in the United States on June 15, 2012, and at the time of making your request for consideration of deferred

action with USCIS; Had no lawful status on June 15, 2012; Are currently in school, have graduated or obtained a certificate of completion from high school, have obtained a general education development (GED) certificate, or are an honorably discharged veteran of the Coast Guard or Armed Forces of the United States; and have not been convicted of a felony, significant misdemeanor, or three or more other misdemeanors, and do not otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety.”; and,  

Whereas, USCIS reports that, “We are no longer accepting initial requests for DACA, but we will adjudicate initial requests for DACA accepted by Sept. 5, 2017… We are only adjudicating DACA renewal requests received by Oct. 5, 2017, from current beneficiaries whose benefits will expire between Sept. 5, 2017 and March 5, 2018.”; and,

Whereas, DACA was signed in as an immigration policy in June 2012 after the Development, Relief, and Education for Alien Minors (DREAM) Act continuously failed to pass the Senate; and,

Whereas, The intention of the DREAM Act is to allow continuous residency for alien minors in the United States, and upon reaching further qualifications, be granted permanent residency; and,

Whereas, Current recipients of DACA who are members of the Montana State University and state of Montana community, upon expiration of their DACA with no chance of renewal, will be deported with no pathway to further continuous or permanent residency; now, therefore, be it,

Resolved, That the Associated Students of Montana State University support the implementation of a pathway to further continuous residency, and upon reaching further qualifications, permanent residency for students of Montana State University and community members of the state of Montana who are currently eligible recipients of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals.